Valdosta State University

👇 Find the best student loan for Valdosta State University!

Valdosta State University, also referred to as VSU, or Valdosta State, is an American public university and is one of the three regional universities in the University System of Georgia

Valdosta State University is located on a 168-acre (0.68 km2) campus at the heart of the city of Valdosta. VSU serves over 13,000 undergraduate and graduate students representing 157 Georgia counties, all 50 states, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa and Washington, D.C. and hosts over 300 international students from 76 countries. VSU also offers classes at Moody Air Force Base north of Valdosta in Lowndes County, and Kings Bay Naval Base in Camden County.

Degree levels offered at Valdosta State include: Associate’s, Bachelor’s, Master’s, Education Specialist, and Doctoral. The university comprises the colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business Administration, Education, Arts, and Nursing. The Graduate School also includes the Divisions of Social Work and Library Science.

VSU is also home to the six-week residential Governor’s Honors Program during the summer for academically and artistically oriented Georgia high school students.

 The Valdosta State Blazers compete in football, basketball, baseball, tennis, golf and cross-country. “Lady Blazers” compete in basketball, softball, tennis, volleyball, cross-country, and soccer. The school’s team was previously known as the Rebels until the name was changed to the Blazers in the 1970s. VSU is a NCAA Division II member institution and has been a member of the Gulf South Conference since 1981. Valdosta State’s first national championship was in baseball in 1979. Valdosta State University football teams won the Division II National Championship 3 times (2004, 2007, 2012) and also played in the title game in 2002. The men’s tennis has won two national titles (2006 and 2011) and also played for the national championship in three other seasons (2004, 2007, and 2010). The Lady Blazers softball team won its first national championship in 2012 after falling in their first title match appearance in 2010.

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar