University of North Texas

πŸ‘‡ Find the best student loan for University of North Texas! πŸ‘‡students loans

The University of North Texas (UNT), based in Denton, Texas

University of North Texas is a public institution of higher education and research committed to a wide array of sciences, engineering fields, liberal arts, fine arts, performing arts, humanities, public policy, and graduate professional education. Ten colleges, two schools, an early admissions math and science academy for exceptional high-school-age students from across the state, and a library system comprise the university. Its research is driven by about 34 doctoral degree programs. During the 2013–2014 school year, the university had a budget of $865 million, of which $40 million was allocated for research. North Texas was founded as anonsectarian, coeducational, private teachers college in 1890; and, as a collaborative development in response to enrollment growth and public demand, its trustees ceded control to the state in 1899. In 1901, North Texas was formally adopted by the State.

Of the thirteen constituent collegiate units, ten sponsor 97 bachelor’s degree programs, and the remaining three units serve other roles. The Toulouse Graduate School coordinates admissions, recruiting, and other aspects of the 81 masters and 34 doctorate degree programs offered by the ten collegiate units. The Honors College is described below. The Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science β€” for exceptional high-school-aged Texas scholars β€” awards high school diplomas that reflect two years of accelerated and enriched college classical core academics in biology, chemistry, physics, lab work, mathematics, English, history, political science, interdisciplinary seminar, and electives.

The student-faculty ratio at UNT is 23:1, and 28.8 percent of its classes consist of fewer than 20 students. The most popular majors include business, management, marketing, communication, journalism, English, multi/interdisciplinary studies, and visual and performing arts.

North Texas is an ninety-year member of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and is among the twenty-seven universities in Texas at Level VI, the highest level. The university is home to seventy-one research centers and institutes, and sixty-one are sponsored by colleges. Three are sponsored by the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, and seven are sponsored by the university’s Office of Research and Economic Development. Four years ago, North Texas launched fifteen research clusters β€” collaborative, cross-disciplinary teams composed of researchers, faculty, students, multiple departments and/or colleges and outside institutions. Simultaneously, the university launched six additional strategic research areas, some of which involving frontiers in science, medicine, and hi-tech.


What do you think?

205 Points
Upvote Downvote

Leave a Reply

University of North Dakota

University of North Dakota