Saginaw Valley State University

πŸ‘‡ Find the best student loan for Saginaw Valley State University! πŸ‘‡students loans

Saginaw Valley State University (SVSU) is a state university in the U.S. state of Michigan

Originally founded in 1963 as Saginaw Valley College, Saginaw Valley State University is located in the middle of Michigan’s lower peninsula in Kochville Township, Saginaw County. However, its official address places it in University Center, Michigan, which it shares with Delta College (which is 3.3 miles (5.3 km) to the north-northwest, in Bay County’s Frankenlust Township). It is the youngest of Michigan’s 15 public colleges and universities.
Higher education in the Saginaw Valley region dates back to the founding of Bay City Junior College in 1922. Though the junior college was replaced by Delta College in 1961, the area still lacked a four-year baccalaureate institution. Saginaw Valley College was founded as a private institution in November 1963, and became a state-supported institution in 1965. The name changed to Saginaw Valley State College in 1974 and again to Saginaw Valley State University in 1987.
The governing authority of the university is the Board of Control, established by the Michigan Constitution and by statute consisting of eight members appointed by the Governor of Michigan for eight-year terms. The university is considered a political subdivision of the state government and, thus, is exempt from federal income tax.

The president of the university is elected by the Board of Control, to whom the Board delegates the authority to conduct university business except certain items specified in the Board’s bylaws. The president is ex officio a non-voting member of the Board. The president has a staff consisting of the four vice presidents; the deans of the colleges; the Executive Director of Information Technology; the Special Assistant to the President for Diversity Programs; the Special Assistant to the President for International Programs; the Special Assistant to the President for Government Relations; the Executive Assistant to the President/Planning Officer; the University Ombudsman; and the Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs.


What do you think?

200 Points
Upvote Downvote

Leave a Reply

University of North Dakota

University of North Dakota