Pfeiffer University

👇 Find the best student loan for Pfeiffer University!

Pfeiffer University is a private university in the village of Misenheimer near Richfield, North Carolina

During the 1950s the school began offering senior college courses. The four-year Pfeiffer College was accredited in 1960 during the administration of Dr. J. Lem Stokes II, President. Pfeiffer opened a satellite campus in Charlotte, approximately forty miles away, in 1977. In 1996 the college’s trustees voted to re-organize to achieve university status, and the current name of Pfeiffer University was adopted.

An outdoor drama entitled “The Legacy of Lick Mountain” relates the beginning of the school, and will be presented in Hudson, N.C. in the summer of 2015.

Pfeiffer’s athletic teams are known as the Falcons. They compete in the NCAA’s Division II as a member of the Conference Carolinas (formerly the Carolinas-Virginia Athletic Conference). Men’s teams include baseball, basketball, cross country, golf, lacrosse, soccer, swimming, tennis and volleyball. Women’s sports consist of basketball, cross country, golf, lacrosse, soccer, softball, swimming, tennis and volleyball. The 1981 Women’s Field Hockey team became Pfeiffer’s first team to win a National Championship.

Steven Armstrong of Edinburgh, Scotland became Pfeiffer’s first individual National Champion in 1995 winning the NAIA National Golf Championship at Bailey Ranch, Tulsa, Oklahoma.

In 2009, varsity student-cyclist Joey Rosskopf won the overall Division II national road cycling championships.

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar