Five Towns College

👇 Find the best student loan for Five Towns College! 

Five Towns College is a for-profit institution of higher learning located in Dix Hills, Long Island, New York

Five Towns College is fully accredited status was reaffirmed by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education on November 20, 2014. The Five Towns College is also accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE). The College holds an Absolute Charter issued by the New York State Board of Regents, and all of its educational programs are registered by the New York State Education Department, Office of College and University Evaluation.

Five Towns College was founded as a business school in 1972 by Lorraine Kleinman Cohen and Stanley G. Cohen, Ed.D. Programs at the college have moved to cover popular music, theatre, film, and communication.

The original proposed site for this college was to be in Lawrence in southwestern Nassau County, New York, an area known as “The Five Towns”, but the college was actually sited in Merrick, New York. Five Towns College moved to Seaford, New York in 1982 and to its current location in Dix Hills in Suffolk County, New York in 1992.

Although the college is a for-profit college, its board of trustees and its founding president Stanley Cohen have argued that the college would be “better positioned to build an endowment if it were a nonprofit.” Cohen, however, was removed from office in 2014 and shareholders have filed suit against the plan to make the college non-profit.

The College is the licensee of WFTU, 1570 kHz, in Riverhead, New York a full-time AM broadcast station, which returned to the air in September 2013.

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar