Culver-Stockton College

Culver–Stockton College is a private, residential, four-year, liberal arts college located in Canton, Missouri

Culver–Stockton College offers a liberal arts education with practical learning experiences. The campus is located on 140 acres (56.7 ha) on a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River, 150 miles north of St. Louis. Culver–Stockton College was founded as Christian University in 1853 as the first institution west of the Mississippi River chartered specifically for men and women. As of fall 2014, the college enrolled 830 students.

The mission of Culver–Stockton College is to provide students of promise a superb education within an active learning community founded upon integrity and the best values of faith and the human spirit. Culver-Stockton College was ranked thirty-fourth in The US News and World Report 2015 Best Colleges in its Midwest Regional Colleges listing.

Culver–Stockton College offers bachelor’s degrees in many different fields of study. The semester consists of 12 week classes and a 3 week class designed to give students “experiential” or intense learning experience that often includes domestic and international travel. Also, through its Online Campus, courses can be taken in an 8-week accelerated format. In addition, Culver–Stockton partners with the Blessing-Rieman College of Nursing in Quincy, Ill., just across the river, to offer a four-year nursing degree.

The 2014-2015 listed tuition and fees are $24,050 and room and board is $7,780. Over 90% who apply for financial aid receive it. On average need based aid covered 75% of students’ costs. The student-faculty ratio at Culver-Stockton College is 13:1, and the school has 64.1 percent of its classes with fewer than 20 students.

Starting in 2013, the Business Division began offering an online MBA. The most popular majors are Business Administration and Management; Sport and Fitness Administration/Management; Psychology; Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse; and Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration. The College is divided into three large divisions as of July 1, 2014, which contain many different majors and programs. An individualized major is also an option. The three new divisions are entitled Applied Liberal Arts and Sciences (ALAS), Fine, Applied, and Literary Arts (FALA), and Business, Education, and Law (BEL). The information below summaries some of the largest programs which have been recently regrouped into the larger divisional categories.


What do you think?

200 Points
Upvote Downvote

Leave a Reply

University of North Dakota

University of North Dakota