Furman University

Furman University is a private, coeducational liberal arts college in Travelers Rest, South Carolina, United States, slightly north of Greenville

Furman University is South Carolina’s oldest private university. Founded in 1826, Furman enrolls approximately 2,700 undergraduate students on its 750-acre campus. The university was named for Richard Furman of Charleston, SC, a prominent minister and president of the Triennial Convention, the first Baptist convention in America.

Furman offers majors and programs in 42 subjects. Most of Furman’s 2,700 undergraduates are from the South Atlantic region, but 46 states and 53 foreign countries are represented in its student population. Furman is a member of the Associated Colleges of the South.